Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國太平洋保險(集團)股份有限公司

CHINA PACIFIC INSURANCE (GROUP) CO., LTD.

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 02601)

Approval of New Directors' Appointment Qualification

Reference is made to the circular of China Pacific Insurance (Group) Co., Ltd. (the "Company") dated 14 April 2014 (the "Circular") and the announcement of the Company dated 29 May 2014. Capitalised terms used herein shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Circular unless otherwise define.

At the Annual General Meeting (the "AGM") of the Company held on 29 May 2014, the shareholders of the Company approved the appointment of Ms. HA Erman as a non-executive director and the appointment of Mr. Gao Shanwen as an independent non-executive director for the 7th session of the Board of Directors of the Company. The appointment qualification of Ms. HA Erman and Mr. Gao Shanwen is subject to the approval of China Insurance Regulatory Commission ("CIRC").

The Company is pleased to announce that the Company has recently received the "Approval of the appointment qualifications of Ms. HA Erman and others (CIRC Approval No. [2014] 697) (the "Approval") issued by CIRC. Pursuant to the Approval, CIRC approved the appointment qualification of Ms. HA Erman as a non-executive director and the appointment qualification of Mr. GAO Shanwen as an independent non-executive director of the Company.

For the biographical details of Ms. HA Erman and Mr. GAO Shanwen, please refer to the Circular.

By Order of the Board

China Pacific Insurance (Group) Co., Ltd.

GAO Guofu

Chairman

Hong Kong, 19 August 2014

As of the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Mr. GAO Guofu and Mr. HUO Lianhong; the non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. WANG Chengran, Ms. SUN Xiaoning, Mr. YANG Xianghai, Mr. WU Jumin, Mr. WU Junhao, Mr. ZHENG Anguo and Ms. HA Erman; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. BAI Wei, Mr. LAM Chi Kuen, Mr. ZHOU Zhonghui, Mr. GAO Shanwen and Mr. FOK Kwong Man.